191,745 CAMRA members

Champion Beer of Britain

Siren Craft Brew’s Broken Dream Breakfast Stout

This year’s Champion Beer of Britain winner is Siren Craft Brew’s Broken Dream Breakfast Stout (6.5% ABV) thanks to its deep and complex blend of chocolate, coffee and a touch of smoke. The judges commented that it stood out for its aroma, taste and finish, all of which were superb.

Named after the Sirens of Greek mythology, Siren Craft Brew captivated judges for the second time this year, having taken home silver in this year’s Champion Winter Beer of Britain competition.

Silver went to Suffolk-based Green Jack’s Ripper (8.5% ABV), a strong barley wine that is both dangerously smooth and yet well-hopped, and winner of CAMRA’s Champion Winter Beer of Britain competition earlier this year.

Bronze was taken by Tyne & Wear-based Mordue for their Workie Ticket (4.5% ABV). A complex and tasty bitter, this brew boasts plenty of malt and hops and a long, satisfying, bitter finish.

About the award

The Champion Beer of Britain is one of the most prestigious beer competitions in the world. It is the ultimate honour for UK brewers and has helped put many into the national spotlight. It is awarded every year at the Trade Session of the Great British Beer Festival.

Judging for the competition takes around a year, starting with individual nominations from CAMRA members and local and regional competitions. On the first day of the festival, a team of judges mull over the contenders for the competition.

The competition spans real ales across the categories for Mild, Bitter, Best Bitter, Strong Bitter, Golden Ale, Specialty. These are combined with the Champion Winter Beer of Britain category winners from the Great British Beer Festival Winter (held in February) – Porter, Stout, Old Ales/Strong Milds, Strong Old Ales/Barley Wines – to create a shortlist for the final round of judging.


All former Champion Beer of Britain Winners

Year Class Winner
2018 Overall Champions
Gold – Siren Craft, Broken Dream Breakfast Stout
Silver – Green Jack, Ripper
Bronze – Mordue, Workie Ticket
2017 Overall Champions
Gold – Church End, Goats Milk
Silver – Bishop Nick, Ridley’s Rite
Bronze – Tiny Rebel, Cwtch
2016 Overall Champions
Gold – Binghams, Vanilla Stout
Silver – Old Dairy, Snow Top
Bronze – Tring, Death or Glory
2015 Overall Champions Gold – Tiny Rebel, Cwtch
Silver – Kelburn, Jaguar
Bronze – Dancing Duck, Dark Drake
2014 Overall Champions
Gold – Timothy Taylor, Boltmaker
Silver – Oakham, Citra
Bronze – Salopian, Darwin’s Origin
2013 Overall Champions Gold – Elland, 1872 Porter
Silver – Buntingford, Twitchell
Bronze – Fyne Ales, Jarl
2012 Overall Champions
Gold – Coniston, No.9 Barley Wine
Silver – Green Jack, Trawlerboys Best Bitter
Bronze – Dark Star, American Pale Ale
2011 Overall Champions
Gold – Mighty Oak, Oscar Wilde
Silver – Marble, Chocolate
Bronze – Salopian, Shropshire Gold
2010 Overall Champions
Gold – Castle Rock, Harvest Pale
Silver – Timothy Taylor, Landlord
Bronze – Surrey Hills, Hammer Mild
2009 Overall Champions Gold – Rudgate, Ruby Mild
Silver – Oakham, Attila
Bronze – West Berkshire, Dr Hexter’s Healer
2008 Overall Champions Gold – Triple fff, Alton’s Pride
Silver – Beckstones, Black Dog Freddy
Bronze – Wickwar, Station Porter
2007 Overall Champions Gold – Hobsons, Mild
Silver – Mighty Oak, Maldon Gold
Bronze – Green Jack, Ripper
2006 Overall Champions
Gold – Crouch Vale, Brewers Gold
Silver – Harvey’s, Sussex Best Bitter
Bronze – Triple fff, Moondance
2005 Overall Champions
Gold – Crouch Vale, Brewers Gold
Silver – Grainstore, Rutland Panther
Bronze – Woodforde’s, Wherry
2004 Overall Champions
Gold – Kelham Island, Pale Rider
Silver – Greene King, IPA
Bronze – Hampshire, Ironside
2003 Overall Champions
Gold – Harviestoun, Bitter & Twisted
Silver – Brains, Dark
Bronze – Bazens, Black Pig
2002 Overall Champions
Gold – Caledonian, Deuchars IPA
Silver – RCH, East Street Cream
Bronze – Triple fff, Moondance
2001 Overall Champions
Gold – Oakham, Jeffrey Hudson Bitter
Silver – Hop Back, Summer Lightning
Bronze – Brains, Dark
2000 Overall Champions
Gold – Moorhouse’s, Black Cat
Silver – Hogs Back, TEA
Bronze – York Brewery, Yorkshire Terrier
1999 Overall Champions
Gold – Timothy Taylor, Landlord
Silver – Oakham, JHB (Jeffrey Hudson Bitter)
Bronze – Caledonian, Deuchars IPA
1998 Overall Champions
Gold – Coniston, Bluebird Bitter
Silver – Mordue, Radgie Gadgie
Bronze – Moorhouse’s, Black Cat
1997 Overall Champions
Gold – Mordue, Workie Ticket
Silver – Batemans, Dark Mild
Bronze – Hobsons, Best Bitter
1996 Overall Champions
Gold – Woodforde’s, Wherry Best Bitter
Silver – Cheriton, Digger’s Gold
Bronze – Butterknowle, Banner Bitter
1995 Overall Champions
Gold – Cottage, Norman’s Conquest
Silver – Coach House, Blunderbuss
Bronze – Woodforde’s, Headcracker
1994 Overall Champions
Gold – Timothy Taylor, Landlord
Silver – Coach House, Blunderbuss
Bronze – Woodforde’s, Headcracker
1993 Overall Champions Gold – Adnams, Extra
Silver – Timothy Taylor, Best Bitter
Bronze – Woodforde’s, Headcracker
1992 Overall Champions
Gold – Woodforde’s, Norfolk Nog
Silver – Timothy Taylor, Landlord
Bronze – Batemans, Salem Porter
1991 Overall Champions
Gold – Mauldons, Black Adder
Silver – Fuller’s, ESB
Bronze – Brains, Dark
1990 Overall Champions
Gold – Ind Coope, Burton Ale
Silver – Timothy Taylor, Landlord
Bronze – Robinsons, Old Tom
1989 Overall Champions
Gold – Fuller’s, Chiswick Bitter
1988 Overall Champions
Gold – Ringwood, Old Thumper
1987 Overall Champions Gold – Pitfield, Dark Star
1986 Overall Champions Gold – Batemans, XXXB
1985 Overall Champions Gold – Fuller’s, ESB (
1984 no event was held this year
1983 Overall Champions
Gold – Timothy Taylor, Landlord
1982 Overall Champions
Gold – Timothy Taylor, Landlord
1981 Overall Champions Gold – Fuller’s, ESB
1980 Overall Champions Gold – Thwaites, Best Mild
1979 Overall Champions Gold – Fuller’s, London Pride
1978 Overall Champions
Joint Gold – Thwaites Best Mild & Fuller’s, ESB

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This