Internal Memorandum

Dan Kane Award

Date: 25 June 2012

To: Branch Chairs, BLOs
From: Steven Prescott, Technical Advisory Group

Status: For information


Dear all,

CAMRA is seeking nominations for the annual Dan Kane Award.

The award was instigated as a memorial to former CAMRA Scottish Regional Director and National Executive member Dan Kane, who tragically died in 1992. The award commemorates his interest in technical aspects of brewing and beer and is awarded annually for a technical innovation in the brewing or pubs industry with a positive impact on beer quality. The award can be made either to an individual or an organisation for research, an original technical innovation or commercial development.

Previous recipients of the award were the Isle of Skye brewery for a novel small recycled container for sales of cask beer to pubs, CypherCo of Hereford for their plastic cask innovation and Charles Wells brewery for their Bombardier mini-cask system, created to allow beer fans the chance to enjoy fresh real ale at home. In earlier years two brewers received the award as individuals - Ian Hornsey for his technical writing on brewing and use of novel ingredients at Nethergate brewery and Paul Bayley of Marstons Brewery for retaining and enlarging the Burton union sets for production of Pedigree Bitter. WyeCollegewon the award for its pioneering work on dwarf hop varieties.

Originally the award was aimed at research students. The first winner was Peter Fox, a biomedical student who analysed proteins in beers and showed the breakdown of protein as beer ages. Later the scope was extended to include technical innovations and commercial developments.

Nominations are invited from students conducting beer-related research, from CAMRA branches, brewery liaison officers on behalf of brewers or individual members. There is no application form and making a nomination is very easy. Just send in details of the innovation or research and how it can improve beer quality. Please send your nominations to Jonathan Mail, CAMRA, 230 Hatfield Road, St Albans, Herts AL1 4LW or e-mail to These nominations will be forwarded onto CAMRA's Technical Advisory Group. Supporting information can be submitted but is not essential.

Closing date Friday 2 November 2012.

Steven Prescott

CAMRA Technical Advisory Group